Minnesota DUI Accident Lawyer
Chapter 169A of the Minnesota Statutes governs the criminal, procedural, and administrative provisions of driving while impaired (DWI, commonly referred to as driving under the influence or DUI in other jurisdictions). In addition to significant consequences for criminal convictions, people who commit these crimes also face potential civil liability if they caused an accident resulting in bodily injury or death.
Minnesota is a state that allows victims to pursue personal injury actions against not only negligent drivers, but also parties that irresponsibly served alcohol to those drivers in certain cases. It is important to understand that a criminal case and any civil action are two completely separate cases, so a driver being acquitted or otherwise avoiding a criminal conviction can still be held civilly liable for a victim’s injuries.
If you suffered catastrophic injuries or your loved one was killed in a drunk driving crash anywhere in Minnesota, it is in your best interest to immediately retain legal counsel. Need an Injury Lawyer Minnesota represents residents and visitors in Duluth, Brooklyn Park, Maple Grove, St. Cloud, Rochester, Bloomington, Plymouth, Woodbury, and many other surrounding areas in the Twin Cities and the greater Minneapolis-St. Paul area.
Minnesota DWI Laws
Under Minnesota Statute § 169A.20, a motorist commits a DWI offense if he or she drives while having an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher or is otherwise under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or other hazardous substance that impairs his or her ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. Commercial drivers, however, commit DWI in Minnesota if they operate vehicles while having alcohol concentrations of 0.04 or more.
Minnesota also has a “Not a Drop” law that applies to minors. People under 21 years of age can be arrested for drunk driving under Minnesota Statute § 169A.33 if there is physical evidence of any alcohol consumption present in their bodies.
Dram Shop Laws in Minnesota
Minnesota Statute § 340A.801 is referred to as the state’s “dram shop” law. It allows victims to pursue civil claims against parties that “illegally” sold alcoholic beverages to the negligent driver.
Under state law, illegally selling alcoholic beverages includes serving alcohol to minors or selling alcohol to a visibly intoxicated person. In many dram shop cases, the defendants are bars, restaurants, or other establishments that are licensed vendors of alcoholic beverages.
The entities subject to dram shop claims will frequently claim that they had now way of knowing how intoxicated the negligent driver was when they served him or her. Need an Injury Lawyer Minnesota can perform the necessary investigative work necessary to support these claims, whether it involves getting witness statements or obtaining records of bar tabs accumulated by the negligent driver.
Minnesota Social Host Liability
Another important form of civil liability available to certain drunk driving accident victims concerns social hosts, or private people who illegally served alcoholic beverages on private premises. Under Minnesota Statute § 340A.90, a victim can seek damages from any person 21 years of age or older who furnished alcoholic beverages to a minor who later caused a drunk driving accident.
Find a DUI Accident Attorney in Iowa
Did you suffer serious injuries or was your loved one killed in a drunk driving crash in Minnesota? Contact Need an Injury Lawyer Minnesota as soon as possible. We represent victims all over the North Star State.